Lovely As A Tree with baby wipe technique

P1020414

Today’s card uses the baby wipe stamping technique.  If you do a search on YouTube, you can see various versions, but basically, you are using a short stack of baby wipes like a blank stamp pad, and adding ink from ink refills to it for your stamp color.  I’ve seen it done where you just put drops of ink you like together on an area of the wipes, and then ink your stamp, and stamp the image, but my technique today uses a stamped image to show you where to place your ink.

P1020415

Steps

  • Determine the colors you want for your image and gather those ink refills.
  • Put down a grocery bag or plastic wrap on your surface and lay about 4 baby wipes on top.  The plastic will keep the ink from getting on your table, and when you are done, you can just wad everything up and throw it in the trash.
  • Ink the image you want in StazOn Black, and then stamp that directly on the top baby wipe, and use that as a guide for where to squeeze your ink refills.  Since I chose Lovely as a Tree, I squeezed Early Espresso on the tree trunks, Garden Green for the grass (I chose Garden Green so it wouldn’t blend in with the Old Olive wash), Cherry Cobbler toward the center of the tree, Cajun Craze just outside that, and for the very outside edge of the trees, Crushed Curry.  When you are done inking, the wipe stack just looks like a big mess, but somehow, it works.
  • Now clean your stamp and then press it into your colored baby wipe stack to ink it, trying to line it up in the places where you think the ink should hit.  It won’t be perfect, but it doesn’t need to be.  Now stamp that image on the paper. I was able to get about 6 decent images before the color faded too much.  I had heard some stampers say they could get 20 images from one of these inked baby wipe stacks, but I didn’t have that kind of luck.

To finish my card, I used an Aqua Painter and Old Olive ink I had squeezed onto the top of the ink lid.  I squeezed a couple drops of water into the ink before “washing it” on the paper, just so it would flow better.  For the sky, I sponged Soft Sky ink in and around the tops of the trees,  I used a free hand cut mask to get the various lines you see in the blue, just to add some interest.  I backed the stamped mat with the a piece of Color Me Autumn Designer Paper, and then put it on an Old Olive base.  The sentiment is stamped from the Good Greetings set in Old Olive ink on Old Olive card stock.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll come back!  To purchase anything Stampin’ Up! you have seen here, go to Stampin’ Bon.

Leave a Reply

